Lobster Pots!

Mon Jul 25, 2005 12:20 pm

I seen an angry post about Lobster pot men there recently and it got me thinking about a few experiences I have had too, has anyone had any bad experiences with them and the floating ropes that tend to be attached to them?

Mon Jul 25, 2005 5:09 pm

Here is one senario that springs to mind.
You snag a floating rope around the prop and it does not sheer through. The pot has been placed in a strong current and while you try and free the mess the pot then snags the bottom. Your prop is now the boats anchor point, if the pot does not give and the current is strong enough your boat is going down depending on its size and weight. The worst offenders are 1 gallon drums which are not suffiently boyant and float about 2-3 inches under the water with a strong tide running.

Gets off soap box
:roll:

lobster pots

Thu Jul 28, 2005 12:56 pm

Ive been fishing a 16ft orkney and now a 19 ft fastliner for probably 15 years out of Portnablagh, Donegal and havent run over a pot rope yet-The way I avoid them is by keeping my eyes open and not going balls out where I know there might be pots. Even if the leader is a bit long everyone should know as long as u are downwind of the float u can go as close as u like to it!

Thu Jul 28, 2005 1:38 pm

I've had a few run-ins with headlines in my time, usually at dusk and low tide where the float, usually those cursed little 5 inch things with a salmon cork as a leader are difficult to see in poor light and choppy water - at low tide you often get dozens of yards of headrope sitting on top of the water.

I've also hit the straps between pots at low tide where the pots weren't kept tight as they were being shot so that the straps were floating up in a big arch in the water.

Provided you don't rip the outboard or the transom off, it's easy enough usually to get sorted. A different matter in a boat with an inboard though where the prop is in under the boat.