Why do people kill undersized bass?

This forum is for general discussion related to Angling. Areas covered would include Media Reports, Conservation Issues and the promotion of the sport.

Moderators: kieran, jd, Tanglerat, teacher

Why do people kill undersized bass?

Postby Teegerstk » Thu Mar 24, 2016 10:58 pm

I've seen a few old reports on here on Wexford, and they featured taking bass from Ferrycarrig Bridge. The report states that it was alive with very small bass, and that people were still taking them. Another post on the Shore QnA states that anglers were fishing off of the Wexford Town Bridge and taking undersized bass.

Why?
I can't imagine killing a bass, no matter what size. Such a beautiful and rare(ish) creature, why are they killed? Especially undersized bass, if you were to eat one, what would you get off it? It seems like they have been overfished too much.

Now, I am a beginner, so I wouldn't know about bass stocks in recent or earlier years, so could someone enlighten me on why people take small bass and why they overfish them?

Thanks
2019 species: codling, whiting, flounder, dab, dogfish, spurdog, sole, smooth hound, bass
2020 species: codling, dab, whiting, flounder, dogfish, turbot, smooth hound, bass
2021 species: flounder, black goby, dogfish, smooth hound
2022 species: dogfish, smooth hound
2023 species: flounder
2024 species: dab
Teegerstk
SAI Sea Dog!

Have thanks: 226 times

Re: Why do people kill undersized bass?

Postby JimC » Fri Mar 25, 2016 11:27 am

Why? People have different standards...
It is not just confined to bass either !

For this message the author JimC has received thanks: 2
beachbuddy (Fri Mar 25, 2016 12:14 pm), ShaneH (Fri Mar 25, 2016 12:22 pm)
JimC

Have thanks: 922 times

Postby greg » Fri Mar 25, 2016 8:50 pm