Shimano 2011 Sea Bass Spinning Combo

Sun Jun 26, 2011 11:30 pm

Link

Anyone know anything about it. Intended doing some spinning for mackerel bass and pollack down in kilmore.

Apologies if this is in wrong forum.

Thanks.

Re: Shimano 2011 Sea Bass Spinning Combo

Mon Jun 27, 2011 11:36 am

i have a shimano speedmaster travel rod (spinning). while its very well made for a travel rod it lacks a bit of backbone - not much though.

Tue Jun 28, 2011 9:44 am

haven't used it but looks alright for the money, shimano make good stuff and even the entry-level catana reels are well regarded. Casting range for the rod is about right too but it doesn't say what length it is, you don't want any more than 9ft.

Remember that putting 'sea bass' on a rod doesn't mean anything, it's just marketing, so think about whether you will save anything once postage is accounted for.

I would not discount going into your local tackle dealer and seeing what they have. Look for a 10-40g or 15-50g spinning/lure rod with a fast or medium-fast action, 9ft is a good overall length, Shimano Vengeance spinning rods, Shimano catana rods are decent at this price range, as are Rovex and Comoran rods that are starting to become more and more common.

For a reel stick with the best Shimano you can afford in a 4000 size, or a Daiwa in a 3000 size, preferably with a front drag, and job's a good 'un.

Might well pick up something perfectly good locally for what that combo would cost once postage is factored in - assuming you can find it online - and also get some decent local info, advice on knots and techniques etc.

Tue Jun 28, 2011 10:26 am

roryodonnell wrote:Link

Anyone know anything about it. Intended doing some spinning for mackerel Bass and pollack down in kilmore.

Apologies if this is in wrong forum.

Thanks.