Fixed spools reels

Wed May 25, 2011 8:57 am

So in the next 2 weeks Im going out to get a new reel, I have 3 options well 6 but just different models.

Penn surfmaster
Shimano Navi
Grauvell Zenith 5000

as you cant tell Im not great with makes/models etc
But Ive been advised the shimano Navi but have no more info on any of them.

Re: Fixed spools reels

Wed May 25, 2011 9:24 am

Definitely not a surfmaster :shock: I'd go with the shimano myself although I've no experience of the grauvell, can't really go wrong with shimano!

Wed May 25, 2011 10:01 am

m8 some bad reports on the Surfmaster...once ya see 'hold' Shimano Navi there's no going back...great reel

Best Luck

Wed May 25, 2011 2:17 pm

I've had a surfmaster and I won't be buying another!!!! Don't know anything on the Grauvell. I got a shimano navi when they first came out and it's still going strong after plenty of abuse. There's also the Daiwa emcast evo's you may want to consider, which I prefer. They cast great, take plenty of abuse and spares are readily available and cheap(ish).

Wed May 25, 2011 4:20 pm

Gabbey11 wrote:So in the next 2 weeks Im going out to get a new reel, I have 3 options well 6 but just different models.

Penn surfmaster
Shimano Navi
Grauvell Zenith 5000

as you cant tell Im not great with makes/models etc
But Ive been advised the shimano Navi but have no more info on any of them.

I would definately go for the Navi out of that list, i'm using it at the moment and it's a great little reel.
I had the Surfmaster and it was a piece of crap and fell apart after little use and the Anti-reverse went on my Zenith after about 4/5 months whichI think is a common enough problem with these reels!

Wed May 25, 2011 5:57 pm

One word........ SHIMANO!