Cork Harbour Tidal Area- The Mullet Hunt

Thu Apr 16, 2020 1:00 pm

This time of year I would normally be fly fishing for trout, but of course that is now off limits.
However I do have a tidal inlet of Cork Harbour within a 2km walk of my house. This spot only has water in it either side of high tide- the window at which there is water depends on the size of the tide.
I have always seen mullet there, but never targeted them before. That has all changed!

Now note I am a complete novice at this type of fishing so I do not expect success to be fast. I will be using my fly rod because it's the best tool I have for the job , but have no delusions of grandeur- I will use pinched on bread on the bare hook if necessary. This is no time to be a purist!

Day 1

I took a wander down with a couple of slices of bread and started to flick small pieces into spots I had seen mullet last year. Nothing happening. None of the normal signs of fish around (V-wakes, swirls etc)
I decided to take a walk around to where it was a bit shallower (this was a particularly big tide) and saw a few small fish cruising around. I took up station up tide of them and started to flick the bread pieces so they would travel down the current to the fish.

The pieces just all passed by without a touch. I tried to get closer to observe the fish but they spooked and bolted off. Game over for that day

Day 2

I decided to change tack and try and get a bread trail going from one spot and attract the fish to me. To this end I got the last bit of bread I had plus an onion bag. I set up at a nice spot that has a bit of height above the water.
My big issue here was a distinct lack of bread (the supermarket run was earmarked for later).

I put most of my broken up bread bread in the onion bag, tied a length of line to it and threw it out into the gradually incoming tide. I couple of shakes on the line and I could see a pleasing trail of bread soup heading down tide from the bag.