Bait:
mackerel + peeler
Rigs:
2 hook 2/0 pennell bomber
Results:
Blankedy blank again

Report:
I'm a complete novice but pretty eager.
Dunanny point is a beautiful beach very secluded (beach all to myself all of the time) and of mixed ground. Tide comes in to meet shale and is quite deep even a few feet out when the tide is in full. I've only ever caught plaice + dabs + eels here on lug (dug freshly) and only when the tide is out. But I'm sure I can/will catch others. Any tips would be very welcome to improve success rate.

Mon Dec 19, 2005 8:59 pm

Grangebellew,
I've caught a number of tope from my boat while anchored really close into the point up until the end of October, and I know of one that was caught from the shore there in september. Bass have been scarse this year, but there is usually the odd one to be caught on the flood tide after an onshore blow, I understand razorfish is the bait they have been catching them on. You are right it is a beautiful place, long may it stay like that. :) :) :)

Tue Dec 20, 2005 9:45 am

Hi Fish Magnet,
Thanks for the tips. Bass is one of the main fish I'm after (although I've never caught one). Razorfish is a bait I've never considered. I suppose it should be readily available. How do I recognize its markings on the sand?

Tope is interesting but a little out of my league right now but it's something to consider as I start to bring in other species.

Best regards, :wink:

Tue Dec 20, 2005 11:19 am

See the Book of Bait. Bottom of page 6.

http://www.sea-angling-ireland.org/Book%20of%20Bait.pdf

Tue Dec 20, 2005 1:27 pm

Hi Sandman,
Thanks for the link. :D This is a really good quick guide.
Best regards,

Tue Dec 20, 2005 1:46 pm

Yup, the Book of Bait is the place to start, every time.