Hello there people

Sun Aug 18, 2013 12:15 pm

Well

Just joined this forum
Fishing the last few years nothing big just general mackerel and stuff.

Got first bass other night in waterford.
Instantly have the bug for fishing
Was pricing spinning rods and stuff around waterford after hours of googling the internet

My price range is €150.

Was offered a €40 shimano rod and reel with a lure for €130 all in.

Anybody recommend a nice little rod and reel.
Must not be over 10 ft as i cant use them properly.
Nice and light and wont snap in half after a few uses
Small reel but again lasts awhile

Sorry about all the questions but if its worth asking about this stuff its better asking the pros here

Thanks lads appreciate any response.

Re: Hello there people

Sun Aug 18, 2013 2:23 pm

Welcome to the forum Dessie. Well I'm not a pro by any means but it might be an idea to find out the exact model Shimano rod and reel and the rods casting weight so the lads on here can advise you. If the reel has been used in saltwater there is always a bit of a gamble buying second hand. If you decide to buy new and the budget allows I would look at the Shimano Exage as a great reel.The 4000 or 2500 size would be best depending on the rod. I will let the lads suggest a new rod as there are lots of new well priced rods around at the mo. See the Tronix Pro HTO thread for example. I have and really like a 2009 Savage Gear Bushwhacker but there have been a lot of reports of snapping tips lately.

Sent from my GT-S5369 using Tapatalk 2

Sun Aug 18, 2013 2:33 pm

Thanks for the reply and advice.
I will be fishing from shore
Bass only as I fish for mackerel / pollack / etc with other rods
There's a fair amount of choice around

I don't want to be casting over 40g

And your right second hand stuff is a little dodgy buy after its great for starters

Since you seem to know the story.

I have €150.

Rod I would like to be is 8ft to 10ft

Small reliable ( very ) reel