Rods Rod sRods.......

Sat May 07, 2011 10:29 pm

I have been fishing for about 40 yrs and I am completely aware that asking opinions about rods and preferences for them is probably a hiding to nothing as there are so many different opinions and favourites. But I want to get as close as I can to some kind of consensus.

I ask about Tenryu because I have heard they are pretty good, but I have also heard about others.

I fish between SP's and sub surface lures and I have decided to refine my rod to my chosen style more specifically. I currently use a Mike Ladle 10/10 Pro which has a Casting Weight of 10-50 gms. And I love the rod. However, I never fish more than 30gms and I would like a rod that threw my 7gm SP's a little further. But I want a rod that will throw both my 7gm SP's as well as my 15 gm Lures just as well. But... then again.... if I am fishing my 7gm SP's and my 15 gm sub surface lures and I suddenly see a Mackerel feeding frenzy then I want to clip on my Mack rig ! So I want a rod that will readily deal with these demands but I also want it to be reliable. Forget SAKURA as I had one of those and the fxxxxg thing broke after one month !

I am not well off but I am not too concerned about cost because I want the rod best for the job. The reason I am asking about Tenryu is because I have heard they are good and I have seen a few with the specs' I want for casting weight and length e.g 7-25 and 8-35 gms. I like a rod of not less than 9'.

More than anything I want one that will do what it says and is RELIABLE. So..... any suggestions gratefully reviewed.

Cheers guys
flynnboy is online now Report Post Edit/Delete Message

Re: Rods Rod sRods.......

Sun May 08, 2011 12:19 am