RE: Lure Rod & Reel

Fri Sep 17, 2010 10:30 am

OK, after a year or so Bait fishing where catch rates & weights have been relatively small, I have made the decision to try some lure fishing for some bass.But i need a rod and reel first! SO basically I am in the market for a new rod and reel. I have been doing some research online and through sea angler magazine. From this, looks like i should be looking at: 8 foot medium/stiff rod 10-40gms.

I have looked at the teklon range and a few others. Im really confused, as a complete novice bass angler - i dont know what to buy or how much to spend.

any advice / pointers for shops to go to etc would be great. I am a beliver in buying through an irish dealer - so the more internet competitive the better. I am based in dublin but travel alot with work. Oh and if anybody has any offers on decent second hand Rods & or reels - let me know as i am also looking at second hand tackle in good working order.

Regards,
Conor

Re: RE: Lure Rod & Reel

Fri Sep 17, 2010 11:19 am

Hay mate....take a gander at this thread if you hav'nt seen it already, im in the same boat as yourself! :)
viewtopic.php?f=28&t=30632

Mon Sep 20, 2010 10:56 pm

Conor,you wont go wrong with either of them rods,im using the teklon 802ml myself paired with the stradic 3000 and cant find a single fault with it,its so easy to work a varity of lures and can stop a good fish in its tracks no bother,light as a feather too, so long sessions are no bother,
heard the rookie is the business aswell from a few lads,its a few quid cheaper too.have a look in southside angling,they have both rods in stock

Mon Oct 18, 2010 4:34 pm

Hi Dave - i just seen this Post - looks like myself and yourself have the exact same set up! delighted with it!! :) had 2 bass on it first time out aswell which was nice :) although the reel has packed in - so sending it back this week - pain in the you know what! But im happy out with the rod - amazing.

Mon Oct 18, 2010 5:13 pm