Orkney Longliner

Thu Jul 06, 2006 11:31 am

Hello all.
I am new to this boating crack and need some help. A friend of mine has an Orkney Long-liner and can not use it due to ill health so he has given me the use of it.
I have a tone of questions but we will start here.
Even at very low speed the bow is lifting to the point where I cant see over it. Not ideal as the area I am in is littered with pots.
As I said this is not my boat so I cant make any permanent changes but is there some way I can overcome this.
Thanks

Thu Jul 06, 2006 11:47 am

Adjust the trim setting for your outboard Paul, easy done if its a Power Tilt and Trim set up, if not, look at the back where the outboard is mounted, You will see a bar sliding through a bracket, this bracket should have a series of holes either side. Lower the bar to reduce Bow lift, raise it to increase it. Having the boat plane as it were is important for speed and fuel consumption. IE less surface area in contact with the water, faster boat will go. I think Pete off the forum has a longliner, try dropping him a PM to see what way his is set up. HTH.

Re: Orkney Longliner

Thu Jul 06, 2006 11:50 am

coaster wrote:Hello all.
I am new to this boating crack and need some help. A friend of mine has an Orkney Long-liner and can not use it due to ill health so he has given me the use of it.
I have a tone of questions but we will start here.
Even at very low speed the bow is lifting to the point where I cant see over it. Not ideal as the area I am in is littered with pots.
As I said this is not my boat so I cant make any permanent changes but is there some way I can overcome this.
Thanks

hi c.
1 or 2 sacks of sand placed in the bow shoud even things up.
art/

Thu Jul 06, 2006 11:57 am