Maiden Voyage

Sat May 13, 2006 6:16 pm

Took delivery of my new Raider 16 Cuddy last Tuesday, and had it the water for the first time today.

Just back from doing 1hr 45min on the new engine - 8.25hrs to go to finish running in.

Did the whole thing single handed - out of the drive, launch, retrieve back in the driveway. I have to say that even though I'm still learning the best way to do things, it was a real doddle.

There was a very heavy chop which tested the boat: lots of flex and creaks compared to the Trophy, but slamming was much less - a more progressive thump rather than feeling like you've just run into a brick wall.

BUT. You really need waders to launch yourself, since you can only get in the boat from the stern.

AND. On the way back, the ratchet strap snapped at the hook. If I hadn't had a rear tie-down, the bare boat would have been bouncing down the road. Reminder: next time use a tie-down at the front as well.

AND. When I came to uncouple the trailer, I found that the jockey wheel handle had fallen off. Fortunately, it fell off at the bottom of the road and a neighbour spotted it.

A few words in the ear of Raider might be in order.

Sat May 13, 2006 11:57 pm

A word of warning Neil , keep a close eye on the bow roller when anchoring as on the second time using mine it fell apart and is now a twisted mess :evil:
But in their defence Raider are sending me a replacemdent one :)
Good luck with the boat

Andy

Sun May 14, 2006 9:38 am

I will, thanks for that. Still in the process of fitting all my gear. Cut a slot to flush mount the VHF, and a cable gland for the GPS and Fishfinder cables. Next the sounder transducer (not fitting the paddle wheel speed sensor, since I have speed on the GPS) and VHF antenna. Trying to find a decent waterproof switch panel at a decent price - some of the pukka ones are the same price as the VHF!