Just purchased a boat.Help!

Boat Angling - everything welcome. The opinions expressed here are those of the private individuals, and we accept no responsibility or liability.

Moderator: JimC

Just purchased a boat.Help!

Postby Jonezy » Tue Apr 30, 2019 10:48 pm

So after about a year of saving and searching I went and collected a lovely warrior 165 with all the bells and whistles a few weeks back(fishfinder,gps,aux engine, anchor,etc). I have limited experience with boats and most of my sea fishing has been for bass from the rocks/beaches with lures. I've been out on a few charters and hired self drive boats a couple of times but I don't really know any marks in cork harbour etc.

Can someone give me a few pointers for marks I might pick up a few fish? I want to keep my bass fishing up but also want to get out to some wrecks and reefs for pollack/ling/whatever else is down there :D etc.

I'm going to be keeping it on a berth in monkstown marina as the only other place I can keep it is an hour away. I'll be staying around the harbour for the first few trips till I get more confident with the boat.

Any tips or information is welcome and if anyone with a bit of knowledge want's a free day out in exchange for some pointers send me a message.

For this message the author Jonezy has received thanks:
chuckaroo (Wed May 01, 2019 2:20 pm)
Jonezy
SAI Lug Worm

Have thanks: 1 time

Re: Just purchased a boat.Help!

Postby kieran » Wed May 01, 2019 11:24 am

you need to talk to Jim. Problem sorted! ;0)

For this message the author kieran has received thanks:
JimC (Wed May 01, 2019 6:08 pm)
kieran
Site Admin/Owner

Have thanks: 445 times
Blog: View Blog (3)

Postby JimC » Wed May 01, 2019 6:07 pm

Well you have picked a fine craft for your first one!
Cork harbour can be a rewarding place but it can be a tough mistress as well.
Have a read off this article and have a look at some of the other articles on there. Much of it is Cork based.