is my sea boat big anuf???

Mon Apr 16, 2007 12:11 am

i got a second hand boat just after xmas. its a 16.6 ft micro-plus explorer 501. with 25 hp outboard, is this suitable for the sea? I've been using Joe's small boat for many years on bullock harbor . and decided to buy one my self. does any one now how far out from the shore its suitable for on a good
day? and how many people is it safe for
thanks
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Mon Apr 16, 2007 7:50 am

I had one of these.... The ill fated "Norfolk n Fish". Most of the problems I had with her were engine related though. I had her 6 miles or so from port on occasion but that was in fairly sheltered water. However, she handled it well, with a fairly smooth stable ride. Your 25 HP should get 17 knots or so, we had over 20 with a 30hp, however I wouldnt push her along at that. Those boats are actually river cruisers and built for pottering around more than anything else. Aside from the lack of deck space, she was a grand boat with nice high gunnels for a bit of security. You wont comfortably fish any more than 2 from her though. I liked the boat, however had one problem too many and recently sold her.

Microplus

Mon Apr 16, 2007 10:13 am

She’ll do grand in the sea. You must remember that performance is a relative thing. Within reason, it’s up to you how far a boat can travel from land. How far are you safe with, how far is the boat safe with.

It is impossible for us here to tell you how far you can go, as we don’t know your capabilities! The boat will do grand in calm waters. Driven correctly, it will handle a short chop with ease (I have never been in one myself).