information on first sea boat

Sat Mar 31, 2007 11:54 pm

hi this is my first time on the site. could anyone recommend a good starter sea fishing boat for a family of two adults and two kids and would anyone out there have any information on the pros and cons of a first boat.looking forward to hearing from ye .
john cork city

Sun Apr 01, 2007 5:56 pm

Hi John,

That is a difficult question to answer simply!
It depends on numerous factors here are just a few for you to consider first.

Do you want to buy new or second-hand?
What is your budget?
Do you want to leave it afloat on a marina or mooring or trailer it?
If you want to trailer it what do you intend to tow it with?
If you want to leave it afloat have you got access to a mooring or a place on a marina have you got a tender (both can be hard to find now days in Cork Harbour and many other areas!)
Do you want an inboard or outboard motor?
What sea areas do you propose to use the boat in?
What boating experience do you have?
How often will you use it?
Where would you leave it for the winter?

Jim

starter boat

Sun Apr 01, 2007 10:53 pm

hi jim looking for a second hand boat £4000 max that would be easy to launch on and off a trailer. I have absolutely no experience of boating and i would be hoping to use it off the coast of cork and dingle for the summer months on;y .People have suggested an orkney longliner 16 ft and an osullivan marine skellig . Thanks for your reply jim .

john

Re: starter boat

Sun Apr 01, 2007 11:19 pm

John wrote:hi jim looking for a second hand boat £4000 max that would be easy to launch on and off a trailer. I have absolutely no experience of boating and i would be hoping to use it off the coast of cork and dingle for the summer months on;y .People have suggested an orkney longliner 16 ft and an osullivan marine skellig . Thanks for your reply jim .

john

Hi John,