Advice needed on buying a boat

Tue Aug 09, 2005 8:13 pm

Hi

I'm considering buying a boat for next season, I'm looking for something that can sleep 2 comfortably.and get to the fishing marks quickly. Been looking at the Orkney Pilot House 24, the Hardy Fisher 24 (extended wheel house), Jenneau Merry Fisher 695 and the Arvor 250 AS . My experience of power boats is very limited. I used to race offshore yachts, but power boats I have little knowledge of.
I understand that the Hardy and the Orkney's have a good reputation for their sea worthiness, the Arvor and the Jenneau I'm not sure about.
The specs of the Arvor and Jenneau far exceed that of the Orkney and Hardy, especially the Orkney where even a second wiper is an optional extra.
Has anyone any experience of these boats ? or can you recommend another make ?

Colmm

Wed Aug 10, 2005 4:06 pm

Have a look at the Quicksilver range too. They are a faster boat then the Orkney or Arvor and any write ups about them in the fishing magazines have been very complimentary.
You can get them with petrol outboard or diesel sterndrive.

Wed Aug 10, 2005 4:29 pm

petrol outboard 6gallons plus/hour Vs diesel sterndrive 2-3 gallons/hour
petrol 90p/litre red diesel 40p (less if you buy it in 500litre lots)
so no guessing what the smart money would buy (not to mention that diesels are much more reliable)

Wed Aug 10, 2005 6:04 pm

Thanks guys for the replies

I was out today and took a test drive in an Orkney Pilot House 20 stern drive.
Have to say i was very impressed with its handling, the guy told me it uses about 4 gallons an our @ 20 knots cruising and 6 gallons an hour flat out.
I've realised that towing anything bigger than 20' is going to be a problem. The beam of the bigger 24's I was looking at are in excess of 9' that would make intresting towing down some of the roads in Donegal, so I may have to
stick with somthing around 20'