Anti-fouling

Thu Oct 09, 2008 1:21 am

Sorry if this has been covered already (I looked back through the titles for a couple of pages and didn't spot it :? )....

I've trailered my boat all season but want to put it on a mooring next year. Its never been moored before (L&R since new) and the Fibreglass hull is as new, never anti-fouled.

Now as a novice, I've been warned to anti-foul it before I moor it - fair enough, but where do I start??!
Is it a paint or can it be sprayed on?
Will it not destroy the look of the hull when its out of the water?
Can you see the 'brush-marks' in the paint? How long does the coat last?
What types are available & what colours??

Any help at all would be useful guys, as I want to try and get this done over the next week or so, before the 'bite' comes in to the weather...
Cheers.

Re: Anti-fouling

Thu Oct 09, 2008 8:14 am

if your boat is in the water all the time antifouling is an important safety issue,
otherwise you will end up with the amazon rainforest growing on it. you will get
dramatic variations in planing ability and speed / revs

there are different types for slow boats and fast boats which need a harder non eroding design.
you might need a primer the first time you apply, instructions are on the tins

it will take about ten mins to put it on with a small roller

you can get white or grey if you want it to look pretty :D

Thu Oct 09, 2008 8:33 am

just one more answer, paint it on immediately before you launch so if the boat
is going in in the spring, don't put it on till then, its all on the tin in any marine shop

Thu Oct 09, 2008 10:22 am

Spot on from John! Not the simplest of jobs!
What craft is she? It is important to get the plimsoll line right, the water line. Many put the boat in for a couple of days and they get the line from this. If someone else has the same style boat you could get your line from this instead.