Drain Plugs (Warrior 165)

Mon May 12, 2008 11:13 am

Hi All,

Hoping to do the first launch of our new boat tomorrow night, but want to make sure all is in order.

Regarding the drain plugs (excuse my ignorance, I'm a boating beginner), I am assuming the lower transom drain pug (just fwd of O/B gearbox) is normally in & closed for normal operation, and opened when the boat is removed from the water?

My main question is about the drain plug in the bilge area; is it normally left opened or closed :roll:? (is there a reason why it would be left closed?

Info on user friendly Dublin bay slips would also be greatly appreciated!

Wish me luck :shock:

Drain plugs/User friendly slips in Dublin

Mon May 12, 2008 1:55 pm

Hi there,

I'm no veteran (only started last year) but still learning and loving it. The easiest slips to launch from are ones that aren't reliant on tides so the likes of Dun Laoghaire, Howth and Poolbeg. Dun Laoghaire is great but at weekends the slip is normally full of divers and all of their gear and laser dinghy trailers. The only thing with DL is the parking, it can be pricey if you are out all day. Poolbeg is nice too but you will need to ask in the Clubhouse if they will allow you launch from there. They let us do it last year a few times without problems.

I have found that there is a great community spirit amongst boat anglers and there are lads only delighted to chat with you about any problems you might have. Chances are at some stage they have suffered and solved some of the problems you will come up against. Lastly, the SAI website is an endless source of information and you should get answers to any questions you have - trust me I have asked some stupid ones in the past year! The lads are just great and very patient.

Best of luck with the launch.

Jay.

Mon May 12, 2008 2:12 pm

Hi Jay,

Thanks for the info on the slips, I think I'll try Howth.