Special Protection Areas

Sun Feb 17, 2008 7:01 pm

Hi,

I have been visiting the SAI site for about eight months now, and this is my first post. I started sea angling back in 1971 as a ten year old. The area that I fished was between Bulloch Harbour and Greystones, both from boat and shore. I have memories of great days and catches, but sadly that is what they are, just memories. Up to the early eighties fishing was good. But through the eighties it diminished. The signs were there, size of fish getting smaller, and species disappearing from certain marks. By 1994, in my opinion it wasn't worth the effort, and I took up fly fishing for sea trout.

However An interest in the marine environment got me back fishing again summer 2007. The prime motivation being to bring myself up to speed as to the state of play of the inshore marine environment. I had an idea what to expect, but I needed to be sure. My forays along the South East coast between July and Dec' 2007 backed up what I expected. Yes, I caught Bass (up to 6lb), Smoothhound (8lb), but every other species, flounder excluded, was small or under size.

1950 is a benchmark year. This is when serious commercial fishing took off again after WWII. When I started fishing in 1971 the waters off Greystones, Co Wicklow could be likened to an aquarium. That was after 20 years of commercial exploitation. One can only imagine what richness was there circa 1950. 1989 was the year that world fish stocks went into terminal decline. We have been on the downward slope ever since. By 2050 we will be eating jellyfish and the biodiversity of the seas will be a thing of the past.