Total Beginner

Mon Jan 31, 2005 3:53 pm

I am a total beginner just bought equipment to start sea fishing, after reading some of the posts on here.

Can you please advise me on where will be best for a first night fishing. I was hoping to go out tonight around 11 somewhere in Dublin area.

Man in fishing shop said try DunLaoighre Pier.

:?:

Mon Jan 31, 2005 4:18 pm

High tide is about 3:30am so you will be on a rising tide. The long pier at Dun Loaghaire is pretty snaggy in places. The shorter pier seems to be a better place to fish by all accounts.
http://www.sea-angling-ireland.org/shor ... dublin.htm

Are you targetting a specific species or just out to give it a bash?

Mon Jan 31, 2005 5:09 pm

Just really want to take it up as a hobby, Had been talking about taking up fishing for the last 6 months.

Unfortunately won't really know what I am doing so will have to learn as I go.

Mon Jan 31, 2005 5:26 pm

You didnt really choose a great time of year to start up, So possible blanks can be expected, even the most seasoned anglers can't catch fish that arn't there.

Hope you bought a headlamp cos Stumbling about in the Dark on an Unlit mark is NOT fun.

Good luck, once you've been out a few times, you'll get the hang of it.

beginner

Mon Jan 31, 2005 6:11 pm

Hi Gregg and welcome

K2 has a point - if you are fishing at night, try for piers and harbours where (a) you get some shelter and (b) they are well lit hence no need for extra expense of headlight etc.