Beach Fixed Spool

Fri Nov 12, 2004 12:33 pm

I'm going to buy the old man a decent fixed spool for his bithday during the week, he's recently retired and has a bit of time on his hands, I know about the Penn surfmaster 70 etc. but I'm looking for something in the €50 - €60 bracket, has anyone got any ideas?

Fri Nov 12, 2004 1:32 pm

Alby,

I'm no expert on Beach reels but I did a bit of research into this at the beginning of the summer. I got some advice from some of the other guys and someone mentioned the Daiwa Jupiter, someone else then said that they had been around for a while and newer reels have more features/bearings etc, this is true, but you will get bargain Jupiters as a consequence. If buying any Daiwa, for beach fishing you would need a 5000 size or bigger, have a look at this jupiter 5000Z (hopefully not sold - 5 available):

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Vi ... 7113105051

Shipping for this reel (26oz) will cost you around $20 to $25 (Get a quote first)

Total price €39 or maybe even less - Bargain

Check out the UK sites, I reckon they will be around £40 + shipping, the Z model has the spare spool and 4 bearings, new Z models don't come up that often on ebay, Great looking reel too:

http://www.daiwa.com/tackle/reels/spin-sw/jz/

At the time I ended up getting two S5500's, the S model has 2 bearings.

Diawa

Fri Nov 12, 2004 6:14 pm

If it is of any use, I have used the Diawa 5000 for three years now. Fairly bullet proof and reliable.
EQ

Fri Nov 12, 2004 7:08 pm

Hi Guys

If you want cheap but reliable, I have been using two Shakespeare Odessa FS reels for a while now. They come with 2 spools, one graphite, and one with an aluminium lip. One spool also comes loaded with quality 25lb line.