It's new Rod time!

Wed Oct 12, 2005 2:57 pm

Hi,

I've now got myself up to speed with my Imax 2/4 and 6/7 Beachcasters with multipliers. I've also now got my new Shimano Fixed Spool reel :D :D for spinning from the beach but no home for it :( so I need to buy some more kit :D

So, allowing for the fact that I have no spinning experience, please recommend what rod I should be wasting my money on. What I want is a rod that is well up to most things chucked at it, price is not an issue but I do not want to buy kit that is so out of my league I would gain a negligible benefit.

I want a "value for money rod" plus but not an "Expensive name minus" if that is clear?

Thanks in advance :D

Re: It's new Rod time!

Wed Oct 12, 2005 6:12 pm

quarterflounder wrote:Hi,

I've now got myself up to speed with my Imax 2/4 and 6/7 Beachcasters with multipliers. I've also now got my new Shimano Fixed Spool reel :D :D for spinning from the beach but no home for it :( so I need to buy some more kit :D

So, allowing for the fact that I have no spinning experience, please recommend what rod I should be wasting my money on. What I want is a rod that is well up to most things chucked at it, price is not an issue but I do not want to buy kit that is so out of my league I would gain a negligible benefit.

I want a "value for money rod" plus but not an "Expensive name minus" if that is clear?

Thanks in advance :D

The shakespeare ugly stick range are quite good an average at about 50.00 per rod. Try them there excellent value for money

Wed Oct 12, 2005 6:53 pm

i got a penn sidewinder a few months back. It has quickly become my fave rod - it fishes well in so many conditions and can whack a lead out if needed.

Thu Oct 13, 2005 5:07 pm

If money is not a problem, take a look at the Mike Ladle Surespin from Veals. Price is 75 (sterling) plus P&P. Lovely rod. Casts a plug well, handles spinners perfectly, and fine for float fishing too.