Long Casting? Multiplier or Fixed spool

Fri May 21, 2004 10:02 am

Lads,

I'm new to this, up until now any sea fishing I've done involved spinning from rocks with lures or feathers. Recently I bought a multiplier on ebay for trolling behind a cruiser on lakes for pike. It's an Olympic Dolphin 625 L/W, from what I can gather it could be as old as I am but it looks relatively new. These reels are regarded as casting reels but on two occasions recently when looking at beach casters I was pointed towards large fixed spool reels. I'm guessing you could cast further with a fixed spool but the multiplier would take a lot more abuse.
What do you guys find works better?

Fri May 21, 2004 10:12 am

Starting out use a fixed spool. If you want extra distance with this you can use braid later on you'll also get better bite detection. When you want to go onto use a multiplier you need one specially designed for the task with brakes otherwise it will break your heart (this is from personel experience).

Donagh

multiplier versus fixed spool

Fri May 21, 2004 10:50 am

Hi

I would agree with donagh - using a mulitplier first out would be a disaster. I converted to them for beachcasting last year and it is still only coming along - I still get crack offs and the dreaded birdsnests and that is with mono, rather than braid. I suspect the reel you have, given it has a levelwind (L/W?) was built for precisely what you will use it for, sport fishing on the troll behind a cruiser. Most people who use multipliers from a beach will tell you to remove the L/W but start with a fixed spool reel.

Really! :D

Fri May 21, 2004 11:21 am

Thanks lads, I reckon you've saved me a lot of greef with that info. What length/type beach caster would you recommend for a beginner?

rod length

Fri May 21, 2004 11:57 am

Hi Adrian