Newcomer looking for a beach

Shore angling - everything welcome! The opinions expressed here are those of the private individuals and we accept no responsibility or liability.

Moderator: donal domeney

Newcomer looking for a beach

Postby RoryH » Wed Nov 29, 2017 12:57 am

Hi lads, I’m relatively new to shore fishing. I took it on this year to keep me busy during the winter. Just wondering are the beaches between crosshaven and Kinsale any good? Such as fountainstown, myrtleville etc. I Have been doing a bit down in monkstown and I’m finding that quite good except the tide can be a balls!!
Thanks
RoryH
SAI Lug Worm

Have thanks: 2 times

Re: Newcomer looking for a beach

Postby phanover » Wed Nov 29, 2017 9:19 am

Monkstown is ok but fish at low water. Fountainstown and Mrytleville are not great. Mostly dogs and better fished when dark. Cobh is worth a shot. Have had Ray and conger there recently. Better fishing east.
Paul
phanover
SAI Bait Ball

Postby Clive O Driscoll » Wed Nov 29, 2017 9:52 am

I would be in the same boat, I've been trying a few beaches around Kinsale, not great at all.. But i didn't have Crab so maybe that would be a factor..

I used catch so many Fish down off Cobh when I was in my teens, my buddies and I Honestly got sick of catching coalies, etc down there and that was the turning point for me, i then got into Fly Fishing for Salmon :) that took me from catching so many to None for the first 2 1/2 years, but when I did, it was all worth it... I fished cobh last saturday morning and had 1 Big crab and 1 Massive conger!!

Everytime I fish around Ringaskiddy/ Paddy's Point, i blank.. I have only gotten dogs so far off monkstown, but haven't been fishing the wall as of yet...

I'm now trying beaches down the East side and they seem to be a bit better, so far... But it would be nice to head West again over christmas and the new year, goodluck in the adventures
Clive

For this message the author Clive O Driscoll has received thanks: