Squid

Thu Jan 29, 2004 11:00 am

I have been using squid as bait for a few years now. While I find it very useful for tipping I don't find it very good on its own. Has anybody found it otherwise? Is it useful for targetting specific species?

Squid

Thu Jan 29, 2004 1:49 pm

Ive got to put my use of squid in context

Firstly, I live close to Limerick, where fresh bait is impossible to get a lot of the time, and frozen bait available is very poor. Squid, especially boxes of frozen californian calamari, is great quality and value.

I do a lot of fishing on the shannon estuary, and even in winter, crab activity is a real pain. There are days when fish baits dont last even two minutes. To increase our chances , we always fish a rod with a large squid bait, alongside our other rods.
This means we always have a fishing bait in the water as even hyper active crabs have a hard time whittling down the squid.
Fished alongside more common baits, the squid has proved surprisingly effective, partly because compared to the fish baits etc, there is always a bait fishing.
Last year squid accounted for thornbacks, doggies,small conger,whiting and dabs.

Up until last year, I rarely used squid, and never caught anything with it, so part of its success is down to always using it.

Ive not caught a bass with it yet, but Ive not caught a bass in the shannon estuary with anything else yet either.

Kev

Squid

Fri Jan 30, 2004 11:49 am

Didn't really have much time for this bait until last year. One of the mates works in the fish factory so he usually had it with him. I started baiting one hook with squid and one with mackerel and found that whilst it didn't outfish the mackerel it appeared to be good at getting bigger stuff including conger and larger dogs. Took a personal best shore whiting (1 and half pound) on a great big lump of it so from then on I wasn't shy about using it. Its useful for varying what your offering the fish.

PMG

Fri Jan 30, 2004 2:46 pm