What are fishing clubs for?

Sun Mar 20, 2005 5:02 pm

Might seem like a funny question but...

I joined a local SAC a while back, paid my sub and duly got my diary and IFSA affilation, no problem, dealt with a very nice and helpful chap who stressed however that he had nothing to do with the shore side of the club and that somebody would be in touch.

I'm new to sea angling, stuck for transport and generally clueless about local marks and so on, and had been hoping that club membership would lead to solving some if not all of those problems

However since I joined I haven't heard a thing from the club, can't get in touch with the people who I'm told are responsible for the shore side of things, and am beginning to suspect that club membership basically means a diary and the right to fish competitions.

I don't want to fish competitions - see lack of transport and knowledge.

I'm just wondering, are clubs just for competitions or am I right to expect that somebody should have at least given me a call to say welcome to the fold, we're going out next Friday if you want to tag along and learn something?

Mon Mar 21, 2005 3:17 am

Have never joined a club myself but my expectations would be the same as yours .Except that I am a cynical bstd .
Good Luck
N/

Clubs

Mon Mar 21, 2005 2:12 pm