January

Thu Dec 30, 2004 11:42 am

hey lads
I'm new to most of this craic and am still learning a lot, and wanted to ask something. I have transport for the next week or so and was looking to get out for a session (and hopefully break the jinx on the shiny new christmas reel, yes I did get it, thanks m.b3) , but I'm told (and I['ve read here) that fishing slows down big-time in Jan and feb. I was going to try a local estuary for flounder but I read somewhere that they may be all gone out to deep water to spawn at this time of year and I wouldn't be surprise if the xmas cold snap had encouraged them to do just that. Would I have any chance at them at all or would I be better advised targetting other species? The mark I'm thinking of also holds bass but again, is it the wrong time of year or am I in with a crack? What should I be targetting at the start of Jan?
Within driving distance are surf beaches, estuarys, rock marks and the wall at monkstown.
any ideas, input much appreciated.

January

Thu Dec 30, 2004 12:54 pm

Hi Rocky

If you talk to Bob Moss he will tell you that the best bass fishing is in the mid winter abd not the summer, mind you it ain't with lures except on very nice days! The flounder will not disappear completely but certainly the fish will be in poorer condition, some may be spawned out and down to skeletal remains (catch and release as they are no good for the table) but with that they get very hungry! Some species like Codling and Whiting come inshore in the winter, smallish Coalfish the same often in massive shoals (drive you cracked after the first hour)... and there is always the chance of a big mackerel - Jim Clohessy has one in January over the Turbot Bank in Cork Harbour last year, and there have been very good fish taken all around the coast in December.

I think the reel will get well christened! :D

Thu Dec 30, 2004 10:09 pm